another wip

sarapilheiraContinuo com os arrumos e encontrei a serapilheira (tenho imensa)que há anos comprei para forrar uns tapetes de Arraiolos, o que nunca fiz. Hoje estão recuperados nas casas dos filhos. Comecei um bordado usando as lãs Rosário 4.
I continue stowing my things and found the burlap I bought years ago to line some tapetes de Arraiolos, which I never did. (today they are recovered at my daughter’s and son’s home). I started an embroidery using wool from Rosário 4 .
sarapilheira-2petalasfolhasjá tinha feito estas pétalas e folhas (para outro fim – ideias tenho eu!) lembrei-me de os utilizar, entretanto, mas não gosto. Fica pesado, não acham?
I have already done these petals and leaves (for another purpose – ideas I have!), so  use them, in the meantime. Don’t like it is heavy, doesn’t it?
sarapilheira-3Digam-me o que pensam, sinceramente, por favor.
Please tell me what you think.

15 thoughts on “another wip

  1. Olá Méri!

    Antes de mais, deixa-me que te diga que gosto muito de trabalhar com serapilheira… é aquele cheirinho que muita gente se queixa mas que eu adoro!!! Mas não é uma tela que sirva para muitos fins, portanto raramente trabalho com esse material (excepto nos arraiolos ou tapeçarias!).
    Quanto à tua questão, tudo depende do fim pretendido. Um quadro com o relevo que essas folhas conferem parece-me uma obra com grande potencial!

    Bjks
    Carla SB

    Like

  2. Olá Méri!
    Veja o que são as coisas – encontrei o seu blog num inglês de que sou seguidora. Resolvi averiguar e descubro que é portuguesa e vive, como eu, no Porto!
    Gostei imenso desse bordado em serapilheira que, para meu gosto, pode transformar-se num belo painel para suspender numa parede.
    Não posso dizer que saiba bordar, mas sei apreciar.
    Movimento-me em muitas outras áreas e gostaria imenso de receber a sua visita. Apareça!
    Beijinhos da Nina

    Like

    • Olá Nina. Obrigada pela visita. Já lá fui dar um saltinho, mas tive que interromper, a “vidinha” não perdoa!. Suspeito que esse blogue é o da Radka, é? (fiquei curiosa)

      Like

      • Bom dia, Meri. Obrigada pelo seu comentário. Efetivamente, referia-me a Radka.
        Das muitas peças de lousa que fui colecionando, nenhuma é açoreana.
        Vou passear um pouco pelo seu blog e vamos mantendo o contacto.
        Beijinhos

        Like

  3. Hello everyone,

    the word ‘Arraiolos” got my attention!!!! but I am not sure about the word “serapilheira” as the background material. In French, it may be serpiliere –serpiliere is a thick cotton cloth used to clean the floors. I read but do not know if it is correct that for the tapetes de arraiolos, waste linen, not the best of the linen was used.

    I am now trying to stitch the arraiolos stitch from a pattern. I completed a small sample and if I know how to post it on your blog, with your permission, I would.
    to miter the corners is my headache!!

    As for your question, continue experiencing with various stitches. it looks like you are using 2 different kind of background textile. the first one reminds me of what the people call here in NM “sabanilla”–the background cloth for New Mexico colcha stitch. Not every one use it , though.

    Later,
    Monique

    Like

  4. Hello Monique!
    glad to hear from you. I’m not using two kinds of fabric – the picture were taken in different days, so not the same light. Serapilheira is the name given to a rough fabric in English id burlap There different kinds – some more perfect weave than others for Arroiolos work is used a more perfect one.
    I think you can post a picture in the reply, but don’t know how.
    You can send one email with the words of the post and annex the photo and i?ll publish it with pleasure. When I made Arroiolos I remember the corners needed a lot of attention.

    Like

    • Hello,
      I will try to post a photo.
      What a surprise!! today I received e mail from Serranofil–another vendor like Rosario–apparently they are teaching a Arraiolos stitiching workshop.

      Monique

      Like

      • If it’s better for you send it by email.
        For long Serranofil is another seller specialized in Arraiolos wool, technique and recovering old carpets. They made workshops

        Like

Leave a Reply

