Beautiful things

A minha querida amiga Monique (infelizmente não tem qualquer link) comentou no meu artigo sobre agulhas Bohin, dando-nos um outro endereço francês, onde se podem encomendar as agulhas Bohin. Ela diz:

A wonderful friend of mine, Monique (unhappily she hasn’t any link) has commented on my post about Bohin needles giving us another French site adress where you can order Bohin needles. She says:

Hi all.

Google “mercerie Bohin”  or http://www.broderiedeco.comThe site is in French but there must be a translation.  If you do not understand, let me know. I will try to translate. Monique

A propósito da Monique tenho que dizer que sabe imenso de bordados e sua história, sabe imenso sobre História de Portugal e Espanha (e não só, é claro)! E conhece profundamente as Colchas Mexicanas e o Bordado de Castelo Branco. Claro que também borda lindamente!
Fala muito bem francês e espanhol e, por isso, um bocadinho de português (se calhar fala mais linguas e eu não sei…).
Há alguns anos viajou por Portugal e espero que volte.
Estou à tua espera :) ! e poderias dar-nos uma lição, partilhando um bocadinho da tua sabedoria.
Senti-me honrada por receber presentes tão delicados – tenho que pensar bem como vou usar aquelas sedas preciosas.

Speaking about Monique I have to say she knows a lot about embroidery and its history, she knows a lot about Portugal and Spain History (not only, of course)! And she knows deeply Mexican Colchas and Castelo Branco Embroidery. Of course she embroiders beautifuly either!
She understands very well French and Spanish and thus understands a bit of Portuguese (perhaps she understands more languages and I don’t know…).
Some years ago Monique travelled through Portugal and I hope her coming again.
I’m waiting for you :)!  and you could do a lecture sharing with us a little bit of your knowledge.
I felt honored receiving such particular gifts – I have to think well how to use those precious silks.

A cestinha é onde ponho as pontas das linhas e o dedal fica junto de acessórios de bordar e costurar que foram da minha Mãe.
I use the little basket to put the ends of threads and the beautiful thimble is aside my Mom’s tools for embroidery and sewing.

Thank you so much, Monique! I’m such a lucky “girl”!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful things

  1. Thank you, Meri!! I am not a good embroiderer, only mediocre at best. My travels took me to Portugal and Spain.. The use of designs in the very old New Mexican colchas are intriguing. The thoughts and ideas,upon close examination,remind me of the colchas of Castelo Branco. It is worth researching. I was an archivist not historian.
    The book about Castelo Branco is fascinating. After I finish taking notes and copies, it will be donated to the University of New Mexico/Center for Southwest Research. Not tomorrow but it will happen. No, I do not have a link and never will. It is all I can do to manage my e mail.
    I tried to attach a photo of a designs from a very old New Mexican, not Mexican, (Mexican embroidery is different), but could not–something about Newsgroup. If you like, send me privated e mail. I will reply with the pic. attachment.
    Cheers,
    Monique

Comments are closed.