Mary Corbet’s lesson 2 – Part I

Here we go!

Things I notice at once:

– need to visit an ophtalmologist – urgent!!!

– need a good hoop – urgent too!.
 

 
Sorry for the poor quality of these images – the camera is good but I’m not good with it.
Next time I’ll go on using mine.

I wanted to be clever and traced six points vertically for the six colours – it didn’t work

the first row became too short
and the back wasn’t nice…
since the first row was too short the subsequent two rows don’t look well – the first and second colours were badly seen…
the back… a mess

The final result. I don’t like it but it is my first attempt in long and short stitch shading.
Next time the first row must be longer.
May I undo???
  
A question: how do you get a smooth, flat thread???
I thought that this happened to me because I used thread card bobbins, but this time I’ve followed Mary Corbet step by step.
 

2 thoughts on “Mary Corbet’s lesson 2 – Part I

  1. Hi, Meri!The shading looks good – you've got the idea right. You'll get a smoother result on the look of the piece with the triangles, I promise! You'll see what I mean – the stitches will blend better. They do not blend as well on this square, vertical block. But that's good, because you can see clearly what the pattern of stitches looks like. On the triangles (element two in the lower left corner) I think you will be amazed and happily surprised!Keep going!!! It'll work!Best,Mary

  2. I'm impressed – I don't have the patience to get a good result with colour blending. And I think you'll only get better with practise.

Comments are closed.