crochet

I can’t remember how long I learnt how to crochet. Many years!

I must admit I’m not fan. I am not specially fond of little doilies, little towels, little blankets.
Better saying I like when the thread/colours/design are special. Meaning by special: when they are not cotton, wool/white, beige/open, close/rosette, squares.
There are very beautiful (and laborious) crochet pieces, of course!
Whenever someone asks (or I offer myself) to make something in crochet, I look for lots of schemes in old magazines. And I look for lots of them because the scheme has to be easy (i’m a little lazy) – the tricky schemes ( i no longer know how to) are the prettiest.
But… once I choose a scheme – that is for a square but I want round (or vive-versa) – I also decide to mix up and I choose a fine thread with a big needle (neither one or other recommended) only to see the result. I reckon and reckon and at last I make a little trick here and there… Believe me it is a hard work!!!
All this chat to say I ‘ve been making crochet, but it will take a loooong time to decide what to do – usually it doesn’t happen to me with other kind of handmade.

Já não sei há quantos anos sei fazer crochet! Há muitos.

Confesso que não sou fã do crochet. Não gosto especialmente de paninhos, toalhinhas, mantinhas, etc. de crochet.
 
Ou melhor, para eu gostar têm que ter fio/cor(es)/feitio especiais. Quero dizer por especiais quando saem do usual algodão,lã/branco, bege/abertos,fechados/rosetas,quadrados.
Claro que há coisas muito bonitas (e trabalhosas) em crochet.
Quando me pedem (ou me ofereço) para fazer qualquer coisa em crochet, procuro bastante em revistas antigas que tenho para aí. Procuro muito porque o esquema tem que ser fácil (sou um pouco preguiçosa) – os esquemas complicados (que já não sei fazer) são os mais bonitos.
Mas… depois de escolher o esquema – que é para um quadrado e eu quero redondo (ou vice versa) – decido ainda complicar e lá escolho uma linha mais fina com uma agulha mais grossa que o recomendado, só para ver o que dá! Faço muitas contas e acabo por fazer batota aqui e ali… enfim uma trabalheira!!!
 
Toda esta conversa para dizer que tenho andado a fazer crochet, mas levo um tempão para me decidir o que fazer – o que normalmente me não acontece com outros trabalhos.

4 thoughts on “crochet

  1. Também faço crochet desde miúda… Cmecei por volta dos cinco, seis anos… Passo muito tempo sem fazer alguma coisa, mas quando volto a ele é para me demorar em experiências… Acho-o terapêutico!

  2. You know, I used to not be a fan of the doilies either. But, a beautiful piece of linen and a really simple edging is truly beautiful and can look very modern. I just bought a wonderful scarf in a little boutique here and they just basically took some material and edged it with a scallop crochet…I don’t think it was hard to do, it looks fabulous and the scarf was expensive. I want to try making my own.

  3. Love your crochet Meri, especially the pieces with simple linen! My Grandmother and Mother have made some lovely pieces.

Comments are closed.