Difícil de acreditar / Hard to believe

Todos os meses recebemos O Tripeiro, revista mensal que guarda a memória colectiva do Porto.
Tem sempre uma secção com notícias curiosas, interessantes ou bizarras, de há 50 anos.
Esta chamou-me a atenção.
 
Every month we receive O Tripeiro a monthly magazine that keeps the collective memory from Porto (town where we live). It always has a section with curious, interesting or bizarre news from 50 years ago.
I’ll try to translate:
It happens 50 years ago
 
German women who was wearing trousers…
September 1958
  • Incident: when a German woman married with a Portuguese was getting out of the car wearing trousers she was strongly insulting, wanting her husband to protect her, it was the end of the World! The car was stoned and many people were injured. This happened in Rio Tinto.

This new called to my mind that only 5 years later (1963) I was wearing trousers for the first time! Just made for the secondary school excursion to Serra da Estrela to see the snow. The trip lasted for three days! My cousin and I were the only girls wearing trousers!!!

Can’t you believe? Even for me it’s hard to believe!

Esta notícia fez-me recordar que 5 anos mais tarde (1963) eu usava calças pela primeira vez! Feitas especialmente para a excursão do liceu à Serra da Estrela para ver a neve. A viagem foi de três dias! A minha prima e eu éramos as únicas raparigas de calças!!!

Acreditam? Mesmo para mim é difícil de acreditar!

5 thoughts on “Difícil de acreditar / Hard to believe

  1. 1963…wow! I was a tiny child just able to walk and I am sure I would have had trousers too!

  2. You are right – it is hard to believe! You were a bit of a fashion trendsetter Meri wearing trousers back in 1963!!

  3. Isso aconteceu por se ter passado em Rio Tinto, com certeza. Em 1958 eu tinha 8 anos e já usava calças, as minhas irmãs e a minha mãe e tia também, principalmente no verão. Temos filmes e fotos a comprová-lo, lembro-me muito bem duns jeans pretos que achava o máximo, bem sei que vivia em Lisboa e talvez aí estivesse a diferença.

  4. Esta história faz-me lembrar os meus pais:Só se conheciam de vista e o meu pai não gostava da minha mãe porque ela usava calças; ela não gostava dele porque ele era do campo e frequentava a (denominada) Escola Industrial – aqui havia uma rivalidade enorme entre os alunos da Escola e os do Liceu.Bem, tanto se desgostavam que acabaram por casar e este ano comemoraram 36 anos de vida em comum. :-)

  5. Crete4us says – I lived and worked in Switzerland in the mid 60s and women were forbidden to wear trousers to work in the office because it was too distracting for the men !!!!

Comments are closed.